David Barthelmy

From:MSA-Announce@lists.minsocam.org on behalf of J Alex Speer [j_a_speer@minsocam.org]Sent:Tuesday, November 17, 2009 2:53 PMTo:MSA-Announce ListSubject:Nov-Dec 2009 Am Min online, 2010 Medalists & Awardees, & Annual Meeting

Dear MSA Member,

[1] The Nov-Dec 2009 (v. 94 n. 11-12) American Mineralogist is online.

If your institution subscribes to GeoScienceWorld (GSW), you have access to the full-text articles through IP recognition without having to enter a password, go to:

<http://ammin.geoscienceworld.org/>

If you have a personal subscription to the journal through MSA, and want to access the journal on GeoScienceWorld (GSW), go to:

<http://gswaccess.minsocam.org/Geoscienceworld.html>

or see it on the MSA website at:

<http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/AmMin/TOC/2009/ND09.html>

[2] Medalists & awardees

= 2010 Roebling Medalist: Robert C. Newton, University of California-Los Angeles

= 2011 Dana Medalist Ross John Angel, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

= 2010 MSA Awardee: Benjamin Gilbert, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

= New Fellows: Thomas S Duffy, David L. Kohlstedt, Sergey V. Krivovichev, Bruno Lanson, William F. McDonough, Peggy A. O'Day, Aral I. Okay, Terry Ann Plank, Mihaly Posfai, Nita Sahai, Renata M. Wentzcovitch, Richard Wirth, Youxue Zhang

= 2010 research grants in mineralogy and petrology from MSA's Mineralogy/Petrology Research Fund:

=== Jessica Lynn Till, University of Minnesota, for her proposal titled "Rutherford backscattering spectrometry studies of Fe chemical diffusion in plagioclase"

=== Neil Robert Bennett, University of Toronto, for his proposal titled "The Metal-Silicate Partitioning Behaviour of Re and Pt: Implications for Terrestrial Accretion and Core Formation".

= 2010 recipient for the research grant in crystallography from the Edward H. Kraus Crystallographic Research Fund:

=== Hsiu-Wen Wang, Indiana University Bloomington, for "Investigation of phase transition mechanisms for NAT-type natural zeolites, natrolite, mesolite and scolecite".

[3] Results of the 2009 election - the 2010 President of the Society is John B. Brady, the 2010 Vice President is David L. Bish. Mickey Gunter was re-elected to another term as Secretary and Darrell J. Henry, Treasurer, remains in office. The new Councilors are Wendy A. Bohrson and Sumit Chakraborty. They join continuing councilors Peter C. Burns, Carol D. Frost, Marc M. Hirschmann, and Penelope L. King.

[4] The 2010 MSA Annual Meeting with GSA, Denver, Colorado, USA. Proposal deadlines are 12 January 2010 for Technical Sessions, Pardee Keynote Symposia and 1 December 2009 for Short Courses, and Field Trips. Details at:

<http://www.geosociety.org/meetings/>

If you are proposing a session, consider making it joint co-sponsorship by MSA and the new mineralogy-petrology-volcanology-geochemistry Division of GSA <<u>http://www.geosociety.org/divisions/mpvg/</u>>.